The Seven Chakras of the Human Body

Chakras in the human body are called as energy centres. Many people are aware of these 7 chakras from Mooladhara to Sahasrara, but many of us do not know there are about 114 chakras and 72,000 nadis also called as energy channels in our body. All these chakras are powerful; the movement of these chakras are from Mooladhaara to Sahasrara can happen with many yogic practices. Let’s look at the seven chakras in the human body and uses.

7 Centres of Energy

The energy is blocked in our seven chakras; blocked energy can lead to illness. By understanding each chakra and regular practice can help us to keep this energy to flow freely.

The Seven Chakras of the Human Body

  1. Mooladhara
    Mooladhara is first chakra, also called as root chakra. This chakra is located at the base of the spine, the colour is red and planets are Earth and Saturn. Mooladhara deals with physical, safety, survival, fear, security and insecurity. This is the most common chakra to be weakened.
  2. Svadhisthana
    Svadhisthana is second chakra, also called as scaral chakra. This chakra is located in the lower abdomen, womb and genitals. Its function is desire, procreation and sexuality. The inner state is tears. The colour is orange and its celestial body is Moon. Balancing this chakra is associated with physical power, fertility and sexual vitality.
  3. Manipura
    Manipura chakra is third chakra, also called as Solar plexus chakra. It mainly deals with issues of willpower, action and ambition. This chakra is for personal power and ability to channel. This chakra is located along the spine in the areas above the navel areas. Its colour is yellow and planets are Mars and Sun. It supports liver, gallbalder, pancreas, spleen and stomach.
  4. Anahata
    Anahata is the fourth chakra, located in the centre of the chest. Its functions include love, inner state of compassion. Its colour is green and planet is Venus. By balancing this chakra you can manage healthy heart, lungs, shoulder, arms, hands, thymus and circulatory system. It can also affect compassion, universal oneness and spiritual love.
  5. Vishuddha
    Vishudhha is the fifth chakra located in the throat; its functions are communication, creativity and self expression. It mainly deals with issues of honesty, truth, expression and integrity. Its colour is bright blue and planets are Neptune and Mercury. By balancing this chakra is important for communication areas of brain and speech.
  6. Anja
    Anja is the sixth chakra also called as third eye chakra. It is located at the centre of our forehead above the eyebrows. The colour is indigo and its planet is Jupiter. Balancing this chakra is important for pineal gland, eyes, ears and psychic perceptions.
  7. Sahasrara
    Sahasrara is also called as crown chakra, this is the last chakra located at the crown of our head which is the connection to the divine within you and all around. It physically supports the deep bran function and central nervous system.

Now, you all know about the types of chakras, location and uses. Let’s look at few benefits of chakras.

  • Transforms weakness into strength
  • You can experience the power of living
  • Enjoy loving and healthy relationships
  • Self realization and self worth
  • Increases self confidence
  • Increases personal integrity
  • Improves focus and clarity of life.